Ask HN: I've been a programmer for 6 years, and I can't solve basic CS problems

https://ift.tt/2DkuEiP



from Hacker News https://ift.tt/YV9WJO
via IFTTT
Hi HN.

My fianceè is currently enrolled on CS50 Introduction to Computer Science online.

I'm a programmer and have been for around 5-6 years, I started with VB.NET since I first started learning, then progressed onto Web Development at a large agency for 4 years (PHP, JS, React) and I'm now back with VB.NET.

I've worked with a few "complicated" (they were to me) projects in the past, but now I'm being tasked with guiding my fianceè with this course.

Some of the problems which she is expected to solve are pretty simple problems, but I just can't seem to get the hang of any of them on my own.

I would have thought that my last 5-6 years of experience would at least help me here. I can point out basic syntax errors and help with debugging, but when it comes to me trying to solve these problems on my own, I don't know where to start.

It makes me question how I was hired in the first place.

Sorry for the rant, but I was just wondering if anyone else felt like this.